Who I Am

Born in Poland, my parents brought me to the United States when I was four years old.  We started off in New Haven, Connecticut, migrating west every 3-4 years until we settled for good in California.  I graduated from UC Irvine with a Bachelors in criminology and a minor in psychology and human behavior.  A few years later, I got my Juris Doctorate from Thomas Jefferson School of Law. 


In terms of careers, I have been always been a nomad.  Upon graduating UCI into the Great Recession, the only work I could find was as an English teacher at a couple of small private ESL schools.  A couple of years later, one of my proudest moments was getting hired as an instructor at the University of California, San Diego.  Around the same time, I became really passionate about basketball officiating and after a few years on the high school circuit, I got hired to work in the NCAA and the NBA Development League (now called the G-League). 


Once my personal officiating career appeared to have petered out, I launched an agency wherein I became a representative and assignor of basketball officials on the grassroots circuit. Together, our Ref Union became the largest provider of basketball referees to city programs and club tournaments in Southern California.  I am still proud to serve as the head representative of over 600 grassroots officials working youth and adult recreational basketball, advocating for higher pay and better working conditions for the most unappreciated members of the game.


I am unfortunately 0/1 on my attempts at passing the bar. 


In my free time, I enjoy the beach, wake surfing with my friends, the occasional binge of a popular video game or Netflix series, and — given the economic challenges created by COVID-19 — occasionally drive for DoorDash and Postmates to make extra money on the side.  Please don't forget to tip your drivers!

2021-03-10-Chris-08489-JPEG sRGB 3000px

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom